Nowa Huta

9 03 2011

Around this time two years ago, I was in Poland. Hard to believe that much time has passed! I still read the Krakow Post regularly, and anything to do with Eastern Europe immediately catches my attention.

I wanted to share this article, courtesy of the Krakow Post, simply because I thought it was one of the better ones I’ve read on the subject. Much has been said about Nowa Huta’s reputation, and even as a temporary expatriate to the city, I was picked up a feeling of intimidation regarding this neighborhood. However, I did one day take a tram to visit the area, and was mostly impressed. The neighborhood was very quiet while I was there, the weather was beautiful, and most of the residents seemed to be enjoying their time socializing in one of the many parks. I walked around, took in the sites, people-watched, was tempted by the elderly ladies selling fresh spring flowers along the sidewalks, and just generally had a nice day. The architecture is typically communist in style, monumentally huge and brutal concrete structures…yet in many cases, there is something breathtaking and almost beautiful about them just the same. It certainly seemed to be a world of contradictions, and didn’t even seem to belong on the same planet as Krakow’s old town district, much less the same city. It really seemed like stepping into a giant time capsule of a by-gone era.

 

Anyway, enough of my observations.

 

Here’s the article to enjoy 🙂

 

http://www.krakowpost.com/article/2509

 

 

 


Actions

Information

Leave a comment